Public Transit Day2

Leave a comment

August 16, 2012 by Art Eddy

Today was the second day of my investigation on riding RIPTA to work. I’m hoping to discover that public transit is a viable way to commute from the suburbs to the office in a small to mid size city. As a landscape architect dedicated to urban revitalization and sustainable living I believe it is important to practice what we preach and although I may never get my wife to move out of the Rhode Island hills into the city, at a minimum I can start to do my part.

I would like to say that it has been a success so far but, trying to weave your way through the RIPTA system is not easy for a new rider. The first day I missed the bus in Woonsocket because I was standing at the wrong bus shelter and ended up driving to work. The second day went much smoother. I caught the bus which surprisingly seemed to be about 75% full. It was obvious that I was with seasoned riders as I tried three or four tries to swipe my card and the group behind me slowly became inpatient. Thank goodness it wasn’t raining. My youngest son was with me as well. This was a new experience for him and I’m happy I was able to expose him to it. He’s STILL wondering why we are no longer driving.

Overall, I think it is only going to get better and I hopefully will become more savvy. So far, its been efficient, on time, the buses were clean and there was always someone friendly to talk to or at least interesting to watch.

Lastly, as part of this research I will be keeping a log of how much I spend and the time spent commuting.

To date:
$89.50 (zip car membership, month long bus pass, and $2.50 bus pass for the little guy)

52 minutes commute.

20120816-083904.jpg

Leave a Reply

The Field

ASLA Professional Practice Networks’ Blog

BDG Blog

BDG is Birchwood Design Group. We are a landscape architecture firm located in Providence, RI, practicing locally, regionally and nationally.

BLDGBLOG

BDG is Birchwood Design Group. We are a landscape architecture firm located in Providence, RI, practicing locally, regionally and nationally.

Landscape+Urbanism

BDG is Birchwood Design Group. We are a landscape architecture firm located in Providence, RI, practicing locally, regionally and nationally.

CityLab | All Articles

BDG is Birchwood Design Group. We are a landscape architecture firm located in Providence, RI, practicing locally, regionally and nationally.

